Theatre = Theater = THEA

News about current Broadway productions and historical information, including scans of programs and opening night cast records.

"IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway."

Catalogs all shows ever produced off-Broadway.

Links to useful websites on theater history, costumes, set design, and technical theater.

One of the largest collections dedicated to theatre. The website has digitized many items, such as personal papers, organizational records, photographs, posters, programs, reviews, and scripts.

The American Variety Stage is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini.

"13,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period (over 3,000 images). Also included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records (3,700 images). The Federal Theatre Project was one of five arts-related projects established during the first term of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt under the Works Progress Administration (WPA)."

Production photos, set designs, costumes, and directors' sketches from the Russian Modernist theatre.

Images of costume and set design from more than 150 productions in England and the United States.

Digitized book from 1922 with examples of Asian, African, Middle Eastern, and Indian garments.

Designs for Paris entertainment establishments, 1920-1938.

"The Lighting Archive website is developing a collection of actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and other documents from real shows. We will place an emphasis on historical productions and designers who have made important contributions to our field."

"This collection contains actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from four landmark productions digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library."

Recordings of people from around the world speaking English.

The national trade association for the Broadway theatre industry