Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
Approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by over 1000 major American black leaders covering 250 years of history. Presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters.
Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. Focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection is growing to include 75,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that give voice to the countless victims of human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting the key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection contains 150,000 pages of rare archival content, including seminal texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
North American Indian Thought and Culture integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. The database is an essential resource for all those interested in serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
A collection of open-access materials (over 350,000 pages) in English and a variety of South Asian languages for the study of South Asia--its caste and social structure, literature, social and economic conditions, and women and gender identity. The collection is provided by the Center for Research Libraries Global Resources Network in partnership with JSTOR, and is a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP).
A searchable online collection, or archive, of documents that view the history of modern empires--conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality--through women’s eyes. Drawn from libraries, physical archives, and personal collections around the world, many of which documents are available to researchers for the first time. Women’s voices can be found at all levels of imperial history. As agents of empire, women were active as missionaries, educators, health-care professionals, and women’s-rights advocates. As opponents of empire, women were active in nationalist and social-reform movements, and as conservers of culture. As people in the vanguard of cultural interaction, women often forged a middle path of innovation in education, health, and family life that drew on both imperial and host cultures.