"There can be confusion around the appropriate terminology for trans and queer identities, even within the trans community itself. As language is constantly evolving, it can be especially difficult to know what to say. As a thorough A-to-Z glossary of trans and queer words from 'ace' to 'xe', this dictionary guide will help to dispel the anxiety around using the 'wrong' words, while explaining the weight of using certain labels and providing individuals with a vocabulary for personal identification. Having correct and accurate terminology to describe oneself can be empowering, especially with words and phrases that describe gender identity, sexuality, sexual orientation, as well as slang relevant to LGBTQ+ rights and anti-discrimination, queer activism, gender-affirming healthcare and psychology"--From Publisher's description.
Publication Date: 2017, by Oxford University Press.
"Provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of Gender Studies. It covers terms that have emerged out of Gender Studies, such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling. It also covers major feminist figures, including Hélène Cixous, bell hooks, and Mary Wollstonecraft, as well as groups and movements from Votes for Women to Reclaim the Night"--From Publisher's description.
"Provides an exposition and analysis of the main philosophical theories, ideas and arguments that inform, and are raised by, questions of gender and sexuality. This work explores both early feminist arguments, which stress 'sameness' between sexes in the interests of equality, and later theories, which emphasize difference"--Publisher's description.
This encyclopedia is a scholarly, entertaining, and highly readable reference work. Editor O'Brien (Seattle Univ.) provides readers with a "gender lens" on society, while emphasizing both individual and global aspects of social life. Entries, written by gender scholars across the US and abroad, are organized in 14 categories: "Arts, Popular Culture, and Sports," "Associations and Organizations," "Biographies," "Body Image, Health and Illness," "Crime and Criminal Justice," "Economics, Environment, and Ecology," "Gender Identities and Roles," "International Development and Human Rights," "Politics, Public Policy, and Social Movements," "Race and Ethnicity," "Relationships, Marriage, and the Family," "Religion, Mythology, and Spirituality," "Science, Research, Education, and Technology," and "Sexuality and Reproduction." Individual entries are as diverse as "Superheroes," "Misogyny," "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," "Sperm Donors," "Feminist Bioethics," "Hip Hop," and "Chastity," and are presented with up-to-date analysis and discussion--Choice Review.
"Surveys the history of women around the world, studies their interaction with men in gendered societies, and looks at the role of gender in shaping human behavior over thousands of years. Discusses family history, the history of the body and sexuality, and cultural history alongside women's history and gender history. Considers the importance of class, region, ethnicity, race, and religion to the formation of gendered societies"--Publisher's description.
"An authoritative guide on gender prehistory for researchers, instructors and students in anthropology, archaeology, and gender studies. Provides the most up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of gender archaeology, with an exclusive focus on prehistory. Offers critical overviews of developments in the archaeology of gender over the last 30 years, as well as assessments of current trends and prospects for future research"--Publisher's description.
This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture reflects the dramatic increase in research on the topic of gender over the past thirty years, revealing that even the most familiar subjects take on new significance when viewed through the lens of gender. The wide range of entries explores how people have experienced, understood, and used concepts of womanhood and manhood in all sorts of obvious and subtle ways. The volume features 113 articles, 65 of which are entirely new for this edition. Thematic articles address subjects such as sexuality, respectability, and paternalism, and investigate the role of gender in broader subjects, including the civil rights movement, country music, and sports.
"This breathtakingly broad, interdisciplinary reader demonstrates how widely feminist thinking has spread, how deeply it has shaken settled assumptions in the disciplines, and how much new light it throws on contemporary controversies"--From review by Myra Marx Ferree, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
"Provides an extraordinarily balanced, in-depth treatment of major contemporary theories, trends, and advances in the field of women and gender. Bringing together contributions from leading U.S. and international scholars, it presents integrated coverage of a variety of approaches-ranging from traditional experiments to postmodern analyses. Conceptual models discussed include those that look within the individual, between individuals and groups, and beyond the person-to the social-structural frameworks in which people are embedded as well as biological and evolutionary perspectives. Multicultural and cross-cultural issues are emphasized throughout, including key variables such as sexual orientation, race/ethnicity, and social class. Researchers and clinicians alike will appreciate the thorough review of the latest thinking about gender and its impact on physical and mental health, which includes the emerging trends in feminist therapy and sociocultural issues important in the treatment of women of color"--Publisher's description.
Call Number: e-book; our library also has the print version under the call-number BF692.2 .P73 2004
Publication Date: 2004
"Replaces media stereotypes and myths with realities, and shows us that there are more similarities between the sexes than differences. The contributors to this handbook have a highly practical and readable approach that will prompt readers to examine their self-awareness and social tolerance to biases against women and men in our social institutions such as schools and workplaces. The contributors to this volume focus on gender role development and multicultural issues throughout the lifecycle"--Publisher's description.
"The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women have filled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from these efforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes"--Publisher's description.
"Provides undergraduate students with an authoritative reference resource on leadership issues specific to women and gender. It covers historical and contemporary barriers to women's leadership and issues of gender bias and discrimination, but also places a strong focus on positive aspects and opportunities for leadership in various domains--in the business sector, the nonprofit and social-service sector, religion academia, public-policy advocacy, the media sports, the arts"--Publisher's description.
"This cutting-edge encyclopedia with contributions by distinguished and internationally recognized scholars provides a comprehensive picture of contemporary issues in the field of women's sexuality, emphasizing women's diversity and international perspectives"--Publisher's description.
"Offers the most up-to-date international overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. HIV/AIDS has been a major media focus, but this encyclopedia fosters a broader understanding of the status of LGBT individuals in their societies. More than 70 countries are represented"--Publisher's description.
"Covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1,000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Including a comprehensive chronology and bibliography, this book is an excellent access point for students and researchers"--From Publisher's description.
Call Number: e-book; our library also has the print version under the call-number PN56.H57 C36 2011
Publication Date: 2010
"Introduces readers to the range of debates that inform studies of works by lesbian and gay writers and of literary representations of same-sex desire and queer identities. Each chapter introduces key concepts in the field in an accessible way and uses several important literary texts to illustrate how these concepts can illuminate our readings of them. Authors discussed range from Henry James, E. M. Forster, and Gertrude Stein to Sarah Waters and Carol Ann Duffy. The contributors showcase the wide variety of approaches and theoretical frameworks that characterize this field, drawing on related themes of gender and sexuality"--Publisher's description.
"Examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. Surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in U.S.-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. Addresses the ways in which queerness pervades persons, texts, bodies, and reading, while paying attention to the transnational component of such literatures. And details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States"--Publisher's description.
Surveys current discussions taking place in this rapidly developing area of study. Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, this companion gathers new essays by an international team of established and emerging scholars. Addresses the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality. Engages the future of queer studies by asking what sexuality stands for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics"--Publisher's description.
"Offers a careful survey of the rights of lesbians and gay men under the present law, specifically in regard to freedom of speech and association, employment, housing, the military, family relationships, protest and other expressive activities, criminal matters, security clearances, and HIV infection"--Publisher's description.
"Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject. The scope of the work is extremely comprehensive, with entries falling into the broad categories of Dance, Education, Film, Health, Homophobia, the Internet, Literature, Music, Performance, and Politics. Slang is also covered"--Publisher's description.
"Puts terms 'queer' and 'theory' under interrogation by a combination of distinguished and emerging scholars from a wide range of international locations, in an effort to map the relations and disjunctions between them. These contributors are especially attendant to the many theoretical discourses intersecting with queer theory, including feminist theory, LGBT studies, postcolonial theory, psychoanalysis, disability studies, Marxism, poststructuralism, critical race studies and posthumanism, to name a few. This Companion provides an up to the minute snapshot of queer scholarship from the past two decades and identifies many current directions queer theorizing is taking, while also signposting several fruitful avenues for future research"--Publisher's description.
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, science, and technology.