Gender Studies

"ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online."

"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."

Searchable database of online collections related to the history of American Women.

Collections from the Library of Congress.

Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

From Special Collections at Duke University.

This collection has sourcebooks for Ancient History, Medieval History, and Modern History. There are also subcategories for topics like Women's History or Jewish History. Many broken links, so be patient.

"The Institute for Women’s Policy Research conducts and communicates research to inspire public dialogue, shape policy, and improve the lives and opportunities of women of diverse backgrounds, circumstances, and experiences."

The International Center for Research on Women (ICRW) is a global research institute, which identifies women’s contributions as well as the obstacles that prevent them from being economically strong and able to fully participate in society.

"Since 1996, IWPR has analyzed data on a wide range of indicators at the local, state, national, and international levels, including demographics, economic security, education, reproductive rights, political participation, civic engagement, and access to health care and work supports. IWPR has released reports on each U.S. state and the District of Columbia, several city/area reports, and a series of reports and a toolkit on women in the Middle East and North Africa."

"Curated news and events on gender equality from across the United Nations."

"Since 2007 Social Watch has been developing the Gender Equity Index (GEI) to make gender inequities more visible and to monitor the evolution in the different countries of the world. The GEI is based on information available that can be compared internationally, and it makes it possible to classify countries and rank them in accordance with a selection of gender inequity indicators in three dimensions--education, economic participation, and political empowerment."

"The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency. The database is updated four times a year (April, July, September, and December)."

"Advances the critical study of men and masculinities by encouraging the development of teaching, research and clinical practice in the field of men’s studies. AMSA provides a forum for teachers, researchers, students, and practitioners to exchange information and to gain support for work on men and masculinities."

"Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work."

"The National Center for Transgender Equality is the nation’s leading social justice advocacy organization winning life-saving change for transgender people." Founded in 2003.