Government & International Affairs = GOV & INTL

"Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates that any student obtaining a degree in this field needs to master for effectiveness in the 21st century. Provides undergraduate students with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail, or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter"--Publisher's description.

"Provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science"--Publisher's description.

The ultimate, comprehensive guide to country-by-country statistics around the world from the researchers and analysts at CIA. America's official guide to the world from Afghanistan and Australia to Zambia and Zimbabwe. Here is complete information on the world's nations. This comprehensive guide is packed with data on the politics, populations, military expenditures, and economics of 2018. It includes: Detailed maps with new geopolitical data Statistics on the population of each country, with details on literacy rates, HIV prevalence, and age structure New data on military expenditures and capabilities Information on each country's climate and natural hazards Details on prominent political parties and contact information for diplomatic consultation Facts on transportation and communication infrastructure Also included are appendixes with useful abbreviations, international environmental agreements, international organizations and groups, weight and measure conversions, and more. Originally intended for use by government officials, this is a must-have resource for students, travelers, journalists, and business people with a desire to know more about their world.

"Contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, and schools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics"--Publisher's description.

Presents the major conceptual approaches to the study of U.S. political parties and the national party system, describing the organization and behavior of U.S. political parties in thematic, narrative chapters that help undergraduate students better understand party origins, historical development, and current operations.

"Offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements, and Supreme Court cases are included.

"Covers all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy and theory. Written by a distinguished group of international scholars, the encyclopedia is largely comprised of substantial entries of more than 1000 words, with 50 major entries of 5000 words on core contemporary topics. Entries are fully cross-referenced and followed by a listing of complementary entries and a short bibliography for further reading"--Publisher's description.

Provides an excellent point of entry into the complexity of international relations as a discipline and provides a survey of the people who have contributed most significantly to its study and academic status.

Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting.

Spans the entire history of American diplomacy--from the first Continental Congress, to the war on terrorism, to the foreign policy goals of the 21st century. Traces not only the growth and development of diplomatic policies and traditions, but also the shifts in public opinion that shape diplomatic trends. Some articles accompanied by excerpts from primary sources.

"The original Handbook of International Relations was the first authoritative and comprehensive survey of the field of international relations. In this new edition, the editors have once again drawn together a team of the world's leading scholars of international relations to provide a state-of-the-art review and indispensable guide to the field, ensuring its position as the pre-eminent volume of its kind. An essential benchmark publication for all advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and academics in politics and international relations"--Publisher's description.

"Provides detailed information on countries from every geographic region and continent on the globe, evaluating their relationships with the United States and measuring the potential security threats posed by each. The contributors consider factors such as geography and history; the political systems of each state; their human rights records; the ability to maintain law and order and provide security within their own borders; the impact of current administrations, rulers, or regimes on a nation's foreign policy; and the regional factors that often dictate local politics, in order to make their assessments"--Publisher's description.

"An alphabetically arranged, encyclopedia introducing the main lines of American law, from the institutions, people, events, and cases to the doctrines and concepts"--Publisher's description.

Provides detailed, in-depth coverage of all aspects of American politics.

"Focuses on the major theories, concepts, and conclusions that define the field comparative politics, analyzing the similarities and differences between political units. Additionally, the Companion outlines those comparativists who have influenced the field in significant ways, and politicians whose administrations have shaped the evaluation of contrasting governments"--Publisher's description.

Theories and applications of IR are comprehensively covered, as are controversies related to the field, prominent figures, and ways IR has shaped political history.

"Offers lively and insightful accounts of the most important cases ever argued before the Supreme Court. Contains more than 450 entries"--Publisher's description.

"Essential guide offering authoritative and engaging critical overviews of the state of scholarship on American politics"--Publisher's description.

"Indispensable for students of diplomacy and junior members of diplomatic services, this dictionary not only covers diplomacy's jargon but also includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations, e-Diplomacy, and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene or have written about it over the last half millennium"--Publisher's description.

"Provides timely, thorough, and accurate political information, with more in-depth coverage of current political controversies than any other reference guide. The updated 2018-2019 edition will continue to be the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. Compiling in one place more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume is renowned for its extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies. This comprehensive update will include coverage of current events, issues, crises, and controversies from the course of the last two years"--Publisher's description.

A comprehensive, annually published collection, or summary, of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. This online version provides access to all editions published from 1878 to 2012.

"Covers twenty-four Supreme Court cases that have shaped American constitutional law. Interpretive chapters shed light on the nuances of each case, the individuals involved, and the social, political, and cultural context at that particular moment in history"--Publisher's description.

Authoritative, extensive in scope, and meticulously researched, America Votes provides official, state-certified election returns for the presidential, House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections. Includes both primary and general-election data.

"This work is a comprehensive collection of brief yet highly readable and informative accounts of the different bureaus, departments, and processes that define the executive branch of the US government. The entries, which range in length from several pages to a single paragraph, were written by a variety of scholars, agency historians, and governmental employees. Generally, these accounts provide a historical overview of the subject under consideration as well as a discussion of its contemporary developments"--Description from the American Library Association.

"Compiling in one place more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume is renowned for its extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies"--Publisher's description.