A multidisciplinary streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms. Includes feature films and documentaries.
Alexander Street Press' Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and more.
"All films* purchased from Alexander Street, whether streaming or DVD, include limited public performance rights, which includes permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged." // July 2022
You can also search OneSearch for your topic and limit your search to "film" (for DVDs and VHS) or "streaming video."
Click here to use Wofford OneSearch to limit your search (it can be by title, actor, director, keyword) to streaming videos. The videos are accessible to you on campus and off. They come from Kanopy, Academic Video Online, and other collections to which our library subscribes. When prompted for a username and password to access a given streaming video, simply enter your MyWofford credentials. [In this example, I have used the keyword search "surfing OR surfer OR surf."]
Click here to use Wofford OneSearch to limit your search (it can be by title, actor, director, keyword) to our library's 4,800+ films on DVD. [In this example, I have used the keyword search "surfing OR surfer OR surf."]
The JSTOR database has absorbed the Artstor Digital Library! JSTOR now provides access to more than 3 million images of the worlds cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. Subject matter covered includes anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, fashion & costume, literature, religion, theater, world history, and much more. The collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, offering many rare and important collections available nowhere else. You must create a free account as a member of the Wofford community to save and download images.
