|
Title |
David Ross Dorroh family papers |
|
Reference Code (ID/Accession #) |
RG 1726 |
|
Name and Location of Repository |
Broadus R.Littlejohn, Jr. Collection, Special Collections, Sandor Teszler Library, Wofford College, Spartanburg, S.C. |
|
Dates of creation |
1852-1863 |
|
Extent |
16 items in 14 folders |
|
Creator(s) |
David Ross Dorroh (Aug. 19, 1812-June 4, 1860) Susan Lewers Dorroh (Jan. 19, 1820-June 13, 1902 James R. Dorroh (b. Aug. 1, 1841) John A. Dorroh (b. Oct. 30, 1842) Samuel L. Dorroh (ca. 1839 – 1870 |
|
Administrative/Biographical History |
David Ross Dorroh (Aug. 19, 1812-June 4, 1860) was a farmer and enslaver in the Hickory Tavern section of Laurens District, SC. He was married to Susan Lewers Dorroh. Susan Lewers Dorroh (Jan. 19, 1820-June 13, 1902) was the daughter of Presbyterian minister and War of 1812 veteran Rev. Samuel Brown Lewers (July 4, 1792-Aug. 28, 1852) a local clergyman serving several churches in the Laurens and Newberry County area. He organized at least three churches there including the First Presbyterian Church of Laurens. Her father and other relatives re-located to Mississippi. Her siblings in Mississippi included Thomas Lewers (1817-Aug. 26, 1865) and Mary Gray Lewers Love (b. Dec. 2, 1833) who are correspondents represented in this collection. David and Susan Dorroh had three sons. James R. Dorroh (b. Aug. 1, 1841-1862), John A. Dorroh (b. Oct. 30, 1842-1862), and Samuel L. Dorroh (ca. 1839-1870). In 1861, James and John enlisted in Company G of the 3rd S. C. Infantry; both died in the Battle of Fredericksburg on Dec. 13, 1862. Samuel Dorroh served in the 14th S. C. Infantry, and after the war, he and his family moved to Mississippi where he died. |
|
Scope and Content |
The collection consists mainly of correspondence between members of David Ross Dorroh’s immediate family, including his wife Susan Lewers Dorroh, sons James R. Dorroh and John A. Dorroh. Other letters are from Samuel L. Dorroh, another son of David and Susan. A few antebellum items of correspondence are present. They are between David Dorroh and his wife Susan and her relatives in Mississippi (usually DeSoto County). One announces the death of Susan’s father, Rev. Samuel B. Lewers (July 4, 1792-Aug. 28, 1852) in Mississippi. All concern family affairs, news, etc. Other items include a bill and receipt to David R. Dorroh, Esq. for 1853 purchases and the other concerns a medical device sold by Dr. J. P. Gilbert of Albany, NY. Correspondence from Susan Lewers Dorroh’s family is represented by letters primarily to Susan from various relatives (some not identified by name) living in both South Carolina and Mississippi. |
|
System of Arrangement |
Chronological |
|
Conditions Governing Access |
Researchers will comply with Archives and Special Collections Use and Handling Guidelines. |
|
Physical Access |
Accessible by appointment at Archives and Special Collections reading room. Contact the Special Collections Librarian. No restrictions. |
|
Technical Access |
Content is not available in digital format. |
|
Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use |
Content in public domain. Photography and copies allowed. |
|
Language(s) and Scripts of the Material |
English |
|
Custodial History |
Unknown |
|
Immediate Source of Acquisition |
Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr., collector |