|
Title |
John H. Dukes correspondence collection |
|
Reference Code (ID/Accession #) |
RG 1728 |
|
Name and Location of Repository |
Broadus R.Littlejohn, Jr. Collection, Special Collections, Sandor Teszler Library, Wofford College, Spartanburg, S.C. |
|
Dates of creation |
1920-1925 |
|
Extent |
35 letters, 2 folders, .25 linear feet |
|
Creator(s) |
J.S.S.D. (or J.S.A.D., primary creator) John H. Dukes (as recipient)
|
|
Administrative/Biographical History |
Biographical information about John H. Dukes and/or his correspondent is lacking. At the time of the creation of these letters, Dukes, based on the addresses on the letters sent to him, resided in Summerton, Clarendon County, South Carolina. His primary correspondent in this collection signed their letters with the initials “J.S.S.” (or perhaps “J.S.A.”) and sometimes with a final initial “D,” was apparently his wife, whose name is unclear, but who wrote from Hendersonville, Henderson County, North Carolina. The collection also contains a letter from Dukes’ brother James, who appears to have resided in Cradock, Virginia in 1924. |
|
Scope and Content |
This collection consists of 35 letters addressed to John H. Dukes between 1920 and 1925. The name of Dukes’ primary correspondent is unclear in collection materials, but, as of a letter from 1923, appears to be his wife. They often sign with initials that appear to be “J.S.S.” or “J.S.A.” and later “J.S.S.D.,” the D in the latter apparently signifying “Dukes.” The letters are addressed to Dukes in Summerton, S.C., a town in Clarendon County, and are sent from Hendersonville, Henderson County, N.C. One letter is from Dukes’ brother James, who appears to have resided in Cradock, Virginia in 1924. |
|
System of Arrangement |
Chronological |
|
Conditions Governing Access |
Researchers will comply with Archives and Special Collections Use and Handling Guidelines. |
|
Physical Access |
Accessible by appointment at Archives and Special Collections reading room. Contact the Special Collections Librarian. No restrictions. |
|
Technical Access |
Content is not available in digital format. |
|
Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use |
Photography and copies allowed for personal study. Permission required for publication or distribution. |
|
Language(s) and Scripts of the Material |
English |
|
Custodial History |
Unknown |
|
Immediate Source of Acquisition |
Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr., collector |