|
Title |
Charles and Emeline Hayward Collection |
|
Reference Code (ID/Accession #) |
RG 1742 |
|
Name and Location of Repository |
Broadus R.Littlejohn, Jr. Collection, Special Collections, Sandor Teszler Library, Wofford College, Spartanburg, S.C. |
|
Dates of creation |
1831 -1853 |
|
Extent |
.5 linear feet, 1 archival box |
|
Creator(s) |
Charles Latham Hayward, Emeline (or Emmaline) “Emma” Greenwood Hayward |
|
Administrative/Biographical History |
Charles Latham Hayward (1812 – 1890) was born in Plymouth, Massachusetts and died in Boston, Massachusetts. An 1889 tax record indicates his profession as “broker.” Emeline (or Emmaline) “Emma” Greenwood Hayward was born in Boston in 1816 and died there in 1896. Charles and Emma were married on Sept. 9, 1840 in Boston. They had 10 children: Elizabeth Ann Hayward (1841-1843), Angelina Greenwood Hayward (1843-1863), Mary Langdon Hayward (1844-1853), Charles Latham Hayward (1846-1921), William Pitt Greenwood Hayward (1848-?), Pelham Winslow Hayward (1848-1853), Edwin Greenwood Hayward (1852-1853), Gertrude Langdon Hayward (1854-1939), George Partridge Hayward (1857-1946), Langdon Hayward (1859-1906). Bibliography: “Hayward Bible.” Transcribed by Tracey St. Claire. BibleRecords.com. http://biblerecords.com/hayward.html. Accessed Oct. 17, 2023. “Charles Latham Hayward.” FindAGrave.com. Find a Grave Memorial ID: 145327966. https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/145327966/charles-latham-hayward. Created by Jacki Earp, 20 April 2015. Accessed Oct. 17, 2023. “Emeline Greenwood Hayward.” FindAGrave.com. Find a Grave Memorial ID: 145328324. https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/145328324/emeline-hayward. Created by Jacki Earp, 20 April 2015. Accessed Oct. 17, 2023. |
|
Scope and Content |
The collection consists of 65 items of correspondence to and from Charles Latham Hayward and Emma Greenwood Hayward. Most of the correspondence to Charles Hayward is from various correspondents. Most of the correspondence to Emma Hayward is from Charles Hayward. |
|
System of Arrangement |
The collection is arranged in three series; items in series are arranged chronologically. Series 1. Correspondence to Emma Greenwood dated 1838-1844, and letters to her with no apparent date. Series 2. Correspondence to Charles Hayward dated 1837-1853. Series 3. Correspondence to Elizabeth Hayward, 1831-1834; 1 item of correspondence to Pelham Hayward, et. Al. May 31, 1838, from Charles Hayward, announcing his engagement, and 1 item of correspondence to E.A. Hayward (addressed as aunt), December 14, 1838, from W. J[?]. Russell. |
|
Conditions Governing Access |
See Archives and Special Collections Use and Handling Guidelines. |
|
Physical Access |
Accessible by appointment at Archives and Special Collections reading room. Contact the Special Collections Librarian. No restrictions. |
|
Technical Access |
Content is not available in digital format. |
|
Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use |
Content in public domain. Photography and copies allowed. |
|
Language(s) and Scripts of the Material |
English |
|
Custodial History |
Unknown |
|
Immediate Source of Acquisition |
Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr., collector |