|
Title |
John and A.Y.W. Glymph Papers |
|
Reference Code (ID/Accession #) |
RG 1727 |
|
Name and Location of Repository |
Broadus R.Littlejohn, Jr. Collection, Special Collections, Sandor Teszler Library, Wofford College, Spartanburg, S.C. |
|
Dates of creation |
1846-1931 inclusive, predominantly 1877-1882, 1893 |
|
Extent |
1 archival box, .5 linear feet, 69 items in 47 folders |
|
Creator(s) |
John Glymph (1798-Jan. 10, 1873) A. Y. W. Glymph (Jan. 20, 1840-July 25, 1904) |
|
Administrative/Biographical History |
John Glymph (1798-1873) was “one of the first merchants of Newberry.” In 1819 and following, John Glymph was postmaster of the area he resided in in Newberry District. He operated Hogg’s Store, located in the community of Pleasant Grove, as early as 1837. Glymph’s store became a polling place in 1842, and sources suggest that it was also a meeting place for public functions through 1860. Glymph and family attended the nearby New Hope Methodist Church. A. Y. W. Glymph (Jan. 20, 1840-July 25, 1904) was the son of John Glymph (1798-1873). During the Civil War, A. Y. W. Glymph joined Company 'G', Holcombe Legion, S.C.V. (South Carolina Volunteers) but was later detached to serve as a quartermaster general. After the war, he succeeded his father as postmaster at Glymphville, S.C., a post he held until his death. Glymphville was a stopping place for the Spartanburg to Columbia stagecoach in the era prior to railroad travel. Around 1869, A.Y.W. Glymph married, Martha (“Mattie”) Kerr Crooks (July 9, 1852-July 7, 1913), a cousin of Col. D. Wyatt Aiken, a former Confederate officer who served in Congress from 1877 until 1887. The 1880 U. S. census notes Glymph as a farmer living with his wife, five sons, a daughter, and Essie Glymph, a white 18-year-old servant. He ran the only general merchandise store in Glymphville, on the Greenville & Columbia Railroad line, 15 miles east of Newberry, S.C. A. Y. W. Glymph died on July 25, 1904, as did his brother David B. Glymph. |
|
Scope and Content |
The collection consists of business and personal correspondence, receipts for cotton, payments on accounts, and estate share disbursements, bills, one bill of sale, etc. The earliest items revolve around the affairs of John Glymph (1798-1873) who ran a store and post office in Glymphville in northeastern Newberry District west of the Broad River and near the line with Fairfield County. Much of the materials relate to the activities of John’s son A. Y. W. Glymph (1840-1940), primarily relating to the annual dispersal of the proceeds from the elder Glymph’s estate and A. Y. W. Glymph’s relationship with the J. P. Johnston Jeweler firm of La Porte, Indiana, who he sold for on consignment. Scattered business papers relating to his activity are also represented, including envelopes and return receipts from registered or certified mail deliveries. Later materials consist primarily of correspondence to various Glymph relatives. The latest are two 1931 letters. |
|
System of Arrangement |
Chronological |
|
Conditions Governing Access |
Researchers will comply with Archives and Special Collections Use and Handling Guidelines. |
|
Physical Access |
Accessible by appointment at Archives and Special Collections reading room. Contact the Special Collections Librarian. No restrictions. |
|
Technical Access |
Content is not available in digital format. |
|
Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use |
Content in public domain. Photography and copies allowed. |
|
Language(s) and Scripts of the Material |
English |
|
Custodial History |
Unknown |
|
Immediate Source of Acquisition |
Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr., collector |