Skip to Main Content

Archival Materials in Special Collections

Finding aids and descriptions of archival collections held in Special Collections, Sandor Teszler Library, Wofford College.

Leonard Baskin and Gehenna Press collection

 

Leonard Baskin and Gehenna Press collection

 

Title

 Richard B. Harwell collection of works by Leonard Baskin and Gehenna Press

Reference Code (ID/Accession #) 

 RG

Name and Location of Repository 

  

Dates of creation 

 1955-1989

Extent

 240 items

Creator(s) 

Leonard Baskin

Gehenna Press

Richard B. Harwell

Administrative/Biographical History

Leonard Baskin (1922-2000) was one of the twentieth century's greatest sculptors and printmakers. Railing against the trends of the time, he maintained a focus on figurative art. Strongly influenced by classical forms, his work reflected his interests in Greek mythology and Jewish tradition and culture. Baskin is also known for having founded one of the longest-running arts presses in the United States. 


("Leonard Baskin." Encyclopedia of World Biography. Vol. 22. Detroit: Gale, 2002. Biography in Context. Web. 5 Mar. 2015.)


The collector, Richard Barksdale Harwell, was born in 1915 in Washington County, Georgia. A librarian, bibliographer, and historian, Harwell authored and edited numerous books relating to the Civil War and especially to the Confederacy.


(Biographical/Historical note, A Guide to the Richard Barksdale Harwell Papers, University of Florida Smathers Libraries, March 2005.)

Scope and Content 

 This collection consists of works created by or associated with the American artist Leonard Baskin. The collection includes items in several formats, such as handmade and mass market books, prints, ephemera, and sculpture. Products of Baskin's Gehenna Press are well represented.

System of Arrangement 

  

Conditions Governing Access

  

Physical Access  

  

Technical Access  

  

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use  

 Items under copyright.

Language(s) and Scripts of the Material

 English

Custodial History

 From the personal collection of Richard B. Harwell.

Immediate Source of Acquisition  

 Given to Wofford College in 1986 by Richard B. Harwell, from his personal collection.