|
Title |
William Robertson Boggs Family Papers |
|
Reference Code (ID/Accession #) |
RG 1701 |
|
Name and Location of Repository |
Broadus R.Littlejohn, Jr. Collection, Special Collections, Sandor Teszler Library, Wofford College, Spartanburg, S.C. |
|
Dates of creation |
Predominantly 1878–1900, Inclusive 1845–1911 |
|
Extent |
3 linear ft.; 4 archival boxes; approximately 420 items |
|
Creator(s) |
Boggs, William Robertson, 1829-1911 Elizabeth (née Boggs) Taylor Mary Sophia (née Symington) Boggs Archibald Boggs William Barrett Taylor Henry P. Taylor |
|
Administrative/Biographical History |
William Robertson Boggs, born in Augusta, Georgia in 1829, was an ordnance officer and subsequently general officer in the Confederate States Army during the American Civil War. Boggs served under Beauregard in Charleston, S.C., under Bragg in Florida, under Kirby-Smith in the Trans-Mississippi. Prior to war he was in the Army Corps of Engineers and following it he worked as as civil engineer in St. Louis, Mo. and then as an instructor at Virginia Polytechnic Institute in Blacksburg, Va. Boggs married Mary Sophia Symington in 1855; he had five children: William Robertson, Jr., Elizabeth McCaw, John Symington, Edith Allston and Henry Patterson. Around 1881 Boggs settled in Winston-Salem, N.C., where he died in 1911. In 1913 Bogg’s memoir of the war “Military Reminiscences of General William R. Boggs, C.S.A.” was published. |
|
Scope and Content |
This collection consists primarily of correspondence between individuals part of or associated with the Boggs family. A significant portion of the collection consists of correspondence of Bogg’s daughter Elizabeth McCaw Boggs. The collection consists of over 400 discrete items. |
|
System of Arrangement |
Arranged in 6 series. I. Correspondence to/from and documents concerned with William Robertson Boggs. II. Correspondence to Elizabeth (“Bessie”) McCaw (née Boggs) Taylor. III. Correspondence to M.R. (Rebecca or “Becky”) Boggs. IV. Correspondence Mary Sophia (née Symington) Boggs. V. Correspondence to William (“Willie”) Barrett Taylor. VI. Miscellaneous records and documents, ancillary information, archival processing notes, etc. |
|
Conditions Governing Access |
Archives and Special Collections Use and Handling Guidelines. |
|
Physical Access |
Accessible by appointment at Archives and Special Collections reading room. Contact the Special Collections Librarian. No restrictions. |
|
Technical Access |
Content is partially available in digital format: https://digitalcommons.wofford.edu/littlejohnboggs/ |
|
Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use |
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License. |
|
Language(s) and Scripts of the Material |
English |
|
Custodial History |
|
|
Immediate Source of Acquisition |
Broadus R. Littlejohn, Jr., collector |